Going over the "new addition request" entries from Medlogs just now .. I came across another one that I'm not sure how to handle. The URL is medline-dot-blogspot-dot-com .. I don't want to make a link .. you you'll have to do the typing (or just remove the -dot-s). Making a link would build traffic for the site .. and I'm not sure that I want to do that. Looking at the "blog" and all recent posts .. there are a few things that make me think that this site is just a revenue ploy - to make money on Google advertising.
- The Name of the site includes the word "Medline" and "Library of Medicine."
- The site provides no information about the author.
- The site's content is cut/pasted verbatim from other websites. Yes .. there is "source" listed on every page .. but it's not really the true source. For example ... a recent entry on light therapy for SAD was copied from this URL at the Cleveland Clinic .. but the source is only ClevelandClinic.org which doesn't really meet my understanding of appropriate attribution. Since the Cleveland Clinic's content says "ŠThe Cleveland Clinic 2004" .. I think there is likely a copyright violation her as well. A paragraph or two may be ok .. but the whole article?
- Most obvious is that there are THREE separate "google ads" banners on the each page.
So ... it looks like the site is here to attract people who are searching google for medical information .. perhaps looking for NLM or even Medline .. then build revenue from the advertising. baaad.
Am I over-reacting? Post a comment if you think I should add this to "medlogs" ... otherwise .. I'll delete it from the holding area .. and expect to see more like it. This is why we need to have an editor for Medlogs ..

Recent Comments